Texting, Facebook, Twitter and dating do not mix.

Hey Facebook. Yes, sure I’d like to send a friend request to that guy I went out with once four years ago who told me he’d love to hang out again then blew me off after I texted him. Thanks for suggesting it. Sounds awesome! Hey…how did you know that happened, anyway? We do not have one mutual Facebook friend. Not one! You are a scary stalker, Facebook. Stop peeping in on my [bad] dates.

I fully believe that modern technology has ruined courtship and dating. I know…courtship? How Old Timey of me! But seriously…when did text messaging become an acceptable form of asking someone out, especially on a first date? I know I’m going to sound like my grandma here for a minute, but there IS something special about the olden days…days where people actually took some time out of their day to make sure a person of interest knew that they WERE an interest and not just a distraction to make the day go by faster by sending rapid fire 160-characters-or-less messages back and forth.

There is something charming about the getting-to-know you process when it takes place through real back and forth voice conversation and not just over various chat/email/phone/font types where you can take as long as you want to craft the perfect witty response. How many times have you sent a message to someone (text, email, whatever) only to wait and wait and wait and not get a response until hours later…or not get a response at all. We all know we are all attached to our phones in this day and age, so at that point, either the person is playing the “I can’t respond too soon!” game (which is fucking stupid, by the way…if you want to respond go ahead and RESPOND – it’s OK to let a person know you like them for fuck’s sake) or they are spending waaaaaay too much time thinking about the perfect thing to say back. OR they can’t be bothered enough to respond right away. Eek. 

I think that we sometimes let ourselves forget that there is a real person on the other side of that electronic wall. It’s easier to not commit or open up too much when you can’t hear the inflection of a person’s voice or when all you see is Helvetica or Tahoma (or if you’re really out of it, Comic Sans) and not a face.

So basically what I’m saying, dearest four readers, is that the next time you are interested in someone romantically, show them you are interested by speaking to them rather than typing to them on your virtual (or physical) keyboard. Go back about 20 years and do it the old fashioned way. Meet up for coffee. Talk on the phone. Hang out together. How about an actual laugh and not an LOL?

Real people. Real feelings. Goddamn, how I miss thee.

About independentsinglegirl

I don't like asking for help. Sometimes that gets me into trouble!
This entry was posted in Dating sucks, Dating then and now, I'm old. and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Texting, Facebook, Twitter and dating do not mix.

  1. Bravo! I couldn’t agree more. Texting is my absolute biggest pet peeve in the dating game these days. There is no way any man has a true opportunity to get to know ME if they can’t hear the sarcasm in my voice as I talk. Seriously!

Leave a Reply

