Rapture! I hardly know her!

So if you didn’t laugh at the title of today’s blog you’re lame.

So today Jesus was supposed to come and take all the believers upstairs and leave the rest of us poor saps here to suffer.  I’m sure y’all are just as surprised as I am that this did not happen.  I mean, it makes total sense that someone would come down from the sky and take people back up with him, right?  About as much sense as it makes that that guy died and then came back to life three days later.  You might as well believe in vampires.

I generally don’t like talking about religion and life and death because the whole thing gives me the willies.  And honestly, the whole concept is crazy to me.  I mean everyone makes fun of the Scientologists because they are total whacks who believe some super crazy shit, but isn’t the premise of Christianity just as crazy? Honestly?  And yet, even as I typed that, I felt a little scared.  Like, what if it’s all true!??!!  And now I’ve totally insulted God and Jesus and now I’ll never get into Heaven!!  Call me Agnostic, I guess.

I have a pretty religious sister. One that probably prays every day that I will see the light.  And I’m going to be point blank honest with you all here: I wish I was like her.  I wish I had faith that something bigger was out there and that everything was going to be ok.  But I don’t.  It scares the hell out of me, but I just don’t.  I’ve tried to feel it.  I’ve tried again and again.  Sometimes I think I do feel it, but frankly, that feeling is probably just panic.  Life would be so much easier in my head if I knew I was going to live on in some form after death. Death scares the fuck out of me.  Ceasing to exist?  Eternal darkness??  No thank you!  Unfortunately the way I see it now, that seems to be what the reality is. It’s what makes the most logical sense.  Out of all the times I’m illogical, why can’t this be one of them?  For realziez.

I could go on and on about this topic but I suppose I would just be saying the same thing over and over, just in different ways: I’m just not sure of anything and it’s scary.  Life is scary.  Death is scary.  Whatevs.

About independentsinglegirl

I don't like asking for help. Sometimes that gets me into trouble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rapture! I hardly know her!

  1. Pingback: Dirty Little Secrets. | IndependentSingleGirl … Kinda

  2. Gretchen says:

    Um I’ll be honest- on rapture day, I was sure nothing was going to happen but… I was also nervous about making fun of it. I knew I wasnt going anywhere!

Leave a Reply

