Blind dating

I’m not talking about going on a date with someone you’ve never met. I’m talking about an actual blind date. Like, the guy you are dating is blind.

So yeah, I dated a blind guy in college.  He was pretty cute.  Definitely a step up or two (or three?) from me looks-wise which makes total sense because you know, he was blind.  He used to call into my college radio show and he seemed cool so it was obviously a good idea for me to go on a date with him.  A blind date with a blind date.

Anyway, we ended up dating for a little while.  I spent a lot of time hanging out in his dark room with him and his awesome dog.  Goddamn, I loved that dog.  The blind guy (let’s call him BG for short*) and I really had nothing in common except our awesome taste in music (in reality, his was better than mine). In actuality, I found him to be really quite annoying which if you know me shouldn’t come as a surprise to you.  Every single guy I have ever dated except for one (the one that got away…) has annoyed the crap out of me. I tend to attract emotionally needy guys (i.e. wimps), and this guy was no exception to that.

So maybe I’ll go to hell for saying this – if you believe in that sort of thing – but the best thing about that relationship was the fact that he couldn’t look at other girls. I never had to worry that someone was prettier or thinner than me. I loved that. Oh, and that damn awesome dog!  As good as those perks of the relationship were, after a couple of months I had to break up with him.  It’s never been easy for me to break up with people because, though I can be kind of a loudmouth, I hate confrontation.  However, it had to be done so I did it. He cried.  Ugh. I think I said something as heartlessly jerky as, “Seriously, dude?”  Yeah, most of my relationships have ended that way.

After breaking up with BG, I was ultra paranoid about his other heightened senses.  Mind you, we had never discussed these heightened senses, I just assumed he had them because that happens when you lose one sense, right?  The others get super human? No? Well that’s what I thought when I was 21 because that’s what I’d seen on the TV. Every time I’d see him around campus, I would be completely silent and try to walk past, keeping as much distance as I could, as stealthily as I could so I wouldn’t stir up my own scent. Apparently I thought being blind also meant you had a vampire-strength sense of smell.  The worst thing was, not only did I have to be stealthy so he wouldn’t sense me with his super human powers, but I had to watch the dog carefully as well.  I had to make sure she didn’t look at me funny or turn toward me cuz then he’d KNOW.  I was sure they had a special signal that would alert him when I was near. I was avoiding eye contact with a DOG. 

After a while, I stopped seeing him around campus – our schedules must have changed.  I later heard he got into some serious legal trouble which I won’t go into here, but let’s just say I’m glad I got out when I did. It wasn’t good.

I really did love that dog, though.

*Names have been changed to protect the innocent and emotionally needy

About independentsinglegirl

I don't like asking for help. Sometimes that gets me into trouble!
This entry was posted in Dating then and now. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

